Sunday, May 23, 2010

Cell phones

I was a server at a local pub when cell phones first became big in my geographical region. People would come in, set their phone on the table, then look around to see if anyone had noticed their latest status symbol. At this time my fellow servers and I were appalled at the behavior some customers had with said status symbol and pretty much came to the conclusion that unless you were the President there really wasn't anything that important that you couldn't wait until after you were finished with your lunch. That was 12 years ago and, as any rational human being knows, bad cell phone behavior has not diminished it has only gotten worse.

Today a lady came into the restaurant in which I work already on her cell phone. She sat down still on her cell phone, looked at the menu while on her cell phone, put her phone down to order (thanks so much!): "I want the Hash with eggs up really soft", she barked and then resumed her conversation. I delivered her food , but apparently her eggs were not raw enough for her, so while I was speaking to a neighboring table she begins to shout for me - now remember she is STILL on her phone, "Excuse me! Excuse me!" I hear behind me. I ignore her and finish with my food check and then turn around to address her. "These eggs are overcooked."
"Alright" I say and head back to the kitchen. The cook addresses the problem and the eggs are cooked, or not they were practically raw, and I take them to her table and set them down in front of her and wait for her response. This lady is still on her phone gabbing away, and then looks up at me and nods; I wait another second, staring in disbelief I am sure, when she slams her silverware down as she unwraps them, and angrily asks, "Do you have a problem?"
"Absolutely not," I say and turn on my heel and walk away shaking. Not only have I been treated without any respect, now I am being shouted at; there is no way in HELL I am going back to her flippin' table I say to myself.
She stays on her phone the entire time she is at the restaurant, even going up to the cash register with her phone, complaining that I was unattentive and that she "needs a box to wrap up the rest of her food." Of course she was rude to the hostess, the cashier, and anyone in her wake, all with her phone stuck to her ear. As a side note my surrounding tables were appalled by her behavior and financially compensated me for having to deal with her stupidity.

So for those of you who have no manners or common sense here is what I am serving up today: No cell phones while dinning out unless it is an emergency, and then please excuse yourself from the table. Talking on your phone not only effects the relationship you have with your server, it is also rude to the surrounding tables who are now forced to hear your conversation. Also, while I'm at it, please take the stupid blue tooth thing out of your ear - you look like an ass.